fbpx How to flip between multiple books without hurting back and neck | Gokhale Method Institute

How to flip between multiple books without hurting back and neck

epkann
epkann's picture
4 years 10 months ago
How to flip between multiple books without hurting back and neck

I'm studying Classics (so lots of books of different sizes open at the same time, flipping between books and pages in the same book to check dictionaries, commentaries, glossaries etc.; need often to turn books upside down to read charts). I am having so much trouble finding a comfortable setup despite having multiple book holders all over my desk. And of course the Greek font is super small, so I keep craning my neck to see the accent marks. The result is my back and neck hurt constantly!

Does anyone have a suggestion? When I try to do this in a better way for my back and neck, I just get SUPER slow at my studies. I get so annoyed with pinning the pages flat, when I need to flip to the back of the book in another minute, that I end up setting books flat on my desk and holding them when I need to flip between pages, but then I end up in a hunched position and my vertebrae aren't stacked and my head drops forward and my arms get tired. The thing that helps most seems to be taking lots of breaks, and learning as much vocab in advance so I don't need to reference the dictionary and commentaries as often, but that only helps to a certain extent.

Thanks a lot!!

P.S. - I know humans didn't evolve to become Classics scholars, but "pick a different field of study" isn't really an option!

Teacher
1 day 20 hours ago

Thanks for reaching out to us!  It sounds like you have quite the challenge...  Reading a lot and having to bend over many books constantly can definitely create neck and back pain if dome improperly over a long period of time.