fbpx length of time to pass before becomming pregnant | Gokhale Method Institute

length of time to pass before becomming pregnant

renae h
renae h's picture
2 years 7 months ago
length of time to pass before becomming pregnant

I had severe lower back pain late in my second pregnancy, with terrible back spasms which began immediately post partum, and which lasted for several weeks.  I know now that it was probably caused by terrible posture habits during that time, and exascerbated by lugging around my 1.5 year old while super pregnant.  I suspect the relaxin hormone probably played a role in the pain as well.  I have been practicing the primal posture methods for a couple months now (I am presently 9 months post partum with my second child), but wondered how long it generally takes before another pregnancy is recommended?  Im sure this varies widely based on how much time the particular student practices...I am only able to actively practice (with no other distractions) glidewalking about 3 times a week for 1 mile each time.  The rest of my practice is on a "when I remember" basis as I move through the days as a stay at home mom with a 2.5 year old and a nine month old (LOTS of opportunities for hip hinging, not much for stretchsitting).  Is there a general bell curve for time it takes for students to become strong in their new and better posture?  Does that amount of time get lengthened for really feeling strong and secure in the new posture methods before trying the have a healthy pain-free pregnancy?  Thanks.

Janine Farzin
Janine Farzin's picture
Teacher
2 years 1 month ago

Hi Renae, 

I love that you are practicing where you can!  You taking care of your body is the first step to teaching these great habits to your little people!